Skip to content

Meeting Scott Kelby in Atlanta Twice!

May 29, 2010

Thank goodness for facebook ads.  Or else, I never would have had such an amazing day at Scott Kelby’s Photoshop For Digital Photographers seminar!

About three weeks ago I saw a facebook ad introducing the Scott Kelby tour!  If you don’t know who Scott Kelby is, shame on you!  Actually, here is your chance to discover an amazing instructor, professional, and photoshop-maniac.  Currently he is the Editor-in-Chief for Layers Magazine, Photoshop User magazine and President of the National Association of Photoshop Professionals (NAPP).

NAPP is the world’s leading resource for Adobe Photoshop training, news, and education.  It has become the largest graphics and digital imaging association in the world with more than 100,000 members worldwide.  I joined because the membership includes:

-Annual subscription to Photoshop User Magazine

-Access to the members-only website with time and money-saving content

-Registration seminar and conference discounts, as well as other savings such as B&H and various software discounts

-Monthly e-newsletter produced with informative and exciting content

Of course not to mention the special freebies that I received including:  WordPress Basics For Photographers (a 2 disc dvd set), Adobe Dreamweaver CS4 For Beginners, and Photoshop CS4 Down & Dirty Tricks.   The seminar included Scotts 7 Point System for Camera raw, Portrait Retouching, Killer Photoshop Tips for Photographers, Printing Techniques and How to Show Your Work, and Photoshop Editing Workflow from Start to Finish.  Scott’s such a genius!  He’s funny too.  The entire seminar was informative & exciting, and the information is extremely applicable to everyday photography retouching and graphic design.  I feel very prepared and confident in photo retouching now whether it’s wedding photography to landscape photography to product photography.  We learned about shooting and stitching panos that work every time, relighting a scene, double processing images, and even quick and easy HDR (you know the Harry Potter look).

The most exciting news I have is that I met Scott Kelby twice in two days!  I met him first at the High Museum of Art.  He was taking photographs of The Allure of the Automobile exhibition.  This afternoon at the seminar I spoke to him again, and he said he got some great shots but spent the entire night removing all the halogen light reflections on the automobiles until about 2 a.m.  J  He then signed my book and received my Social Brand Aid business card.  How amazing!  Scott Kelby knows about my company.  He thought the name was very clever.  I feel great things coming this year especially since I just learned some great retouching and creative tips for my photography and graphic design.  I encourage you all to check out his website for tips and training, and I bet you’ll get sucked into the Photoshop world within a few hours.

If you are interested in following Scott Kelby’s tutorials, blog, and challenges.  For online training visit, www.kelbytraining.com.  If you want tips from me, email me at jenniferkliu@jkaymaydesign.com.  Happy Photoshopping!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

